Flora Inspiration

Fingers crossed that you are reading this post right now. I’ve tried to post some iteration of this idea for the past two days, but each time I press publish…poof! Deleted! If this post actually made it to you through the intricate interwebs then you’re about to read about my household obsession: succulents!

Succulents are not a new passion of mine by any means, I have had a love affair with the plants since 2002 when I fell down a mountain and landed right into one—a prickly cactus nonetheless! But what’s new in my house is our method for displaying them, and the size of our collection. Our succulent assortment doubled after our wedding last year…and since then has been steadily growing—between Jesse replanting leaves and frequent trips to the garden center.

What is it about succulents? To me there is something magical about the way they look (right out of a Dr. Seuss book) and the way they survive (generally in severe conditions, with little water). Just looking at them gives me a list boost. There should be a thought bubble over them: “Hey, we’re making it work in this harsh world, and so can you!”

Under the boojum tree, 2002. Baja California, Mexico.

Taken in Baja California, Mexico on that same trip.

Succulents come in all sort of sizes and shapes. Check out this crazy-looking cactus called a Boojum Tree below. That’s a picture from a desert-plant course I took back in college. I’m in red, and my friend and awesome-blogger, Kate Kurtz, is there with hands on hips.

The Desert Botanical Garden in AZ describes it well:

Boojum tree (Fouquieria columnaris) is a large succulent closely related to the ocotillo. A remarkable looking plant, often compared to an upside down parsnip, it naturally occurs only in Baja California and in a restricted area of Sonora, Mexico. Long-lived plants, some are thought to have achieved over 500 years of growth.

But, back to the subject: decorating with succulents.  Jesse and I are going for a Northeast meets Southwest look with our desert garden spreading out across the windowsills, and taking over as the centerpiece of our newly-redesigned living room. Check out our succulent planters: a terracotta strawberry pot and recycled espresso tins! Basically, my feeling with succulents is: plant them anywhere, especially peaking out from unexpected corners. Choose interesting vessels: old teapots, used rain-boots, antique medicine bottles to compliment the plant’s wacky nature.

In our living room.

Want some decorating inspiration? Check out these photo from around the web. Note: they’re not all succulents, but they have the feel that I’m going for in my house.

Photos clockwise from top left: one, two, three, four, five.

Now if only Boston’s weather could be a little more like Tucson’s my plants would love it! Ok, who are we kidding…I’d love it too! ;)

~Jess

4 thoughts on “Flora Inspiration

  1. Jess! The timing of this post is remarkable in that I just yesterday took two photos for you of some GIANT succulents here in CA. They are everywhere, and so my thoughts of you are everywhere too!

  2. Pingback: When succulents see red! | small house/BIG GARDEN

Have a comment? Please leave it here...

