ReUse: The Coffee Bag

So I know most of you are always curious about how not to waste things or how to find another use for them rather than shoving them into the recycling or garbage bin. Such items may consist of: beer cans, grocery bags, bag ties (including the metal twist or the plastic bag tie thingy), those thin green velcro vegetable ties, etc. This week, I’m focusing on one use for one item: The Coffee Bag.

I imagine that most of you keep your coffee bags lying around, collecting dust, hoping for that perfect something to put inside so you can use it again. Now you can. The brown paper coffee bag is perfect for sending gifts in…small gifts. I recently sent some baked goods (Lemon Coconut Cranberry Cake with Lemon Curd on the Bottom–See recipe below) and I was in a tight spot. I couldn’t find a brown bag to cover the box I had, then it appeared, like an aura in the sky –the lonely brown coffee bag. It was a match made in mail heaven.

   

Lemon Coconut Cranberry Cake with Lemon Curd on the Bottom — I tweaked the recipe to include the juices from two lemons, three tablespoons of coconut, and added a handful of cranberries.  I also added the zest from one lemon. I omitted the glaze.

BTW: The coffee bags are free at the grocery store should you also be in a tight spot.

Happy Shipping!

-Jesse

Have a comment? Please leave it here...

