Hmmm…What’s in the fridge?

This one’s for the fellas, although I must admit, anyone could make this at home. On my drive home from work I pondered what I would make for dinner, knowing that I would be eating alone. “We don’t have anything!” chimed the voice in my head. So on a whim I threw this together.

You really don’t need to have a plan, mine just sort of evolved as I started rummaging through the fridge finding things that looked tasty. Here’s what I found.

Ingredients: Tomato, cheddar cheese, salami, basil, egg, frozen corn, frozen butternut squash and 2 frozen bread rolls.

Step 1: Defrost bread rolls in toaster oven

Step 2: Boil water for poached eggs (we received 2 poach pods from our registry from Crate & Barrel –I highly recommend these!)

Step 3: Place frozen corn and squash in a bowl and mix in some paprika. Place in microwave for 3 minutes, stirring half way.

Step 4: Check on bread. Bread should be crusty but not frozen. Cut in half and add a thinly cut slice of cheese to each half.

Step 5: Slice tomato; cut salami and basil into pieces.

Step 6: Assemble. Once the poached eggs are ready (after water boils, eggs are placed in pods for 4 mins). A) Scoop corn and squash mix onto plate; B) Place halved rolls with cheese on or next to corn and squash mix; C) Add tomato to top of melted cheese; D) Add basil and salami; C) Add poached eggs.

End result should look something like this. Upon tasting the creation I would have to say that the tomato, basil, salami, cheese, corn and squash mix is an explosive mix of deliciousness combining flavors that are sweet, salty, smoky and earthy. I would even go so far to say that the egg was just gratuitous and excessive, but alas, it was indulgent, and I suppose that was the point, considering it was a mad dash into the fridge for whatever may lie inside.

I hope your next creation is as creative and tasty…remember, you don’t need to have a plan as long as it tastes good.

Enjoy!!

– Jesse

One thought on “Hmmm…What’s in the fridge?

Have a comment? Please leave it here...

